LCL logo

Home

Banner image
Research Resources

Resources are grouped into these categories:
Arts & Music   
Automotive   
Books & literature   
Business, Consumer & Employment   
Directories   
Education   
Genealogy   
Geography   
Government & Politics   
Health   
History & Biography   
Language   
Law   
Magazines & news   
Religion   
Science   
Miscellaneous   

Login to these resources is automatic from most computers located within Lincoln City Libraries facilities.

Unless otherwise noted, off-site access is also available for Lincoln City Libraries cardholders; contact Library staff for login information.

Android and iPhone Apps for Selected Research Resourcessmartphone icon Resources marked with this icon can also be accessed through these Android and iPhone apps!

Arts & Music resources:
American Song   Recordings and information about the history of American music. This resource includes the material formerly included in African American Song.
CAMIO (Catalog of Art Museum Images Online)   High-quality art images. Access is available only from within Lincoln City Libraries facilities.
Classical Music Library   Archive of classical music recordings and information about classical music.
Contemporary World Music   Recordings and information about contemporary music from around the world.
Jazz Music Library   Comprehensive collection of streaming jazz.
Music Online   All of our music resources combined in one interface.
Smithsonian Global Sound   Recordings and information about music from around the world.
Theatre in Video   This resource is no longer available.
 
Automotive Information:
Auto Repair Reference Center   Automotive repair information.
 
Books & literature resources:
eBooks from Books24x7   Electronic books with an emphasis on computer hardware and software, business, and health and well-being. Note: registration is required to use this resource
Books in Print   Database of books available from publishers.
Dear Reader Online Book Clubs   Book excerpts by e-mail.
Digital Downloads from OverDrive   Downloadable e-books and audiobooks (these may be checked out, but not downloaded on Library computers)
eBooks from EBSCO (formerly netLibrary)   Electronic books.
Fiction Connection   Help for finding good books to read.
smartphone iconLiterature Resource Center   Information on more than 120,000 writers; this resource incorporates the Contemporary Authors database.
Non-Fiction Connection   Help for finding good non-fiction books to read.
NoveList   Help for finding good books to read.
NoveList K-8   A special version of NoveList for kids.
WorldCat   Access to the holdings records of libraries around the world.
 
Business, Consumer & Employment resources:
A to Z: The World Facts & Travel (Global Road Warrior)   World travel information with a focus on the business traveller.
smartphone iconBusiness Reference e-Books   A collection of electronic business reference books.
JobNow
powered by brainfuse
  Live interactive help and other resources for job seekers. Live help available from 2:00-11:00 PM each day.
smartphone iconLegalForms   Legal forms (including small business forms) for use in Nebraska.
Morningstar® Investment Research Center   Business and investment information.
Prices for Antiques (p4A Antiques Reference)   Information about antiques and collectibles.
ReferenceUSA   Nationwide business directory.
Value Line® Investment Survey   Business and investment information.
 
Directories:
ReferenceUSA   Nationwide business and residential telephone directory.
 
Education resources:
Homework HelpNow
powered by brainfuse
  Online tutoring and homework help for grades 3-12. Service available from 2:00-11:00 PM each day.
Teacher Reference Center   Information for teachers and professional educators.
Testing & Education Reference Center   This resource is no longer available.
 
Genealogy resources:
Ancestry Library Edition   Genealogy information. Access is available only from within Lincoln City Libraries facilities.
ArchiveGrid   Index to historical archives. Access is available only from within Lincoln City Libraries facilities.
HeritageQuest Online   Genealogy information.
 
Geography resources:
A to Z: The USA   General information about US states and Territories.
A to Z: The World Facts & Travel (Global Road Warrior)   World travel information with a focus on the business traveler.
smartphone iconGeography Reference e-Books   Electronic Reference books about places and cultures.
Historic Map Works   High-resolution, full color historic maps.
Sanborn Maps (Nebraska)   Property and land-use maps from 1883 through 1962.
 
Government & Politics resources:
smartphone iconGovernment & Politics Reference e-Books   Electronic Reference books about Government & Politics.
 
Health resources:
Consumer Health Complete   This resource is no longer available.
smartphone iconHealth and Medicine Reference e-Books   Electronic Reference books on health and medicine.
smartphone iconHealth and Wellness Resource Center   Consumer-oriented health information.
 
History & Biography resources:
ArchiveGrid   Index to historical archives. Access is available only from within Lincoln City Libraries facilities.
smartphone iconBiography in Context (formerly Biography Resource Center)   Biographical information.
Biography Reference Bank   Biographical database and periodicals index.
Historic Map Works   High-resolution, full color historic maps.
smartphone iconHistory Reference e-Books   A collection of electronic history reference books.
Sanborn Maps (Nebraska)   Property and land-use maps from 1883 through 1962.
 
Language resources:
Mango Languages   Lessons in nine foreign languages, plus English for speakers of other languages.
iPhone app informationAn iPhone / iPod Touch / iPad app is available for this resource.
Oxford Language Dictionaries   Dictionary for translating between English and six other languages.
 
Law resources:
smartphone iconLegalForms   Legal forms for use in Nebraska.
smartphone iconLegal Reference e-Books   Electronic Reference books on a legal topics. (Includes West's Encyclopedia of American Law)
 
Magazines and news resources:
eLibrary (formerly Electric Library)   Articles from selected magazines, newspapers (including the Omaha World Herald), books, and radio and TV broadcasts.
Lincoln Journal Star   Coverage of the Lincoln Journal Star from June 1996 to the present.
Magazine Article Search   Full-text magazine articles and reference sources. (This combines EBSCO MasterFile Premier and Wilson OmniFile.)
New York Times   Coverage from 1981-present.
 
Religion resources:
smartphone iconReligion Reference e-Books   Electronic Reference books about religions and religious issues. (Currently includes only the Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World)
 
Science resources:
smartphone iconScience and Nature Reference e-Books   Electronic Reference books on a wide range of science and nature topics. (Includes Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia)
 
Miscellaneous resources:
FirstSearch   Eleven databases on a variety of topics.
smartphone iconGale Virtual Reference Library   Electronic Reference books.
smartphone iconKids InfoBits   Information resources for students in Kindergarten through Grade 5.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)   Information about Library and Information Science.
smartphone iconOpposing Viewpoints in Context   Information on social issues.